A version of this article appeared originally in The Stanford Daily on November 30, 2011.

On November 2, 2004 I was an 18-year-old college freshman voting in my first election. I was excited because I would be casting my ballot in Ohio—a swing state where pundits claimed the election would be decided. When I arrived at my precinct’s polling station, I found a line that snaked through every room in the building, doubled back on itself, and ended outside, in the frigid rain. I waited for six hours before reaching the front, where I saw that only two voting booths had been allocated for around 1,800 voters. I missed class and dinner to cast my ballot, but my candidate conceded before the votes that we had waited hours in line to register were fully counted. I found out later that the 6–10 hour wait at my precinct had occurred all around Ohio—almost exclusively in college towns and in majority-black precincts—and that Republican-heavy districts were assigned many more voting booths (approximately one booth per 100 voters) than Democratic ones. This selective under-allocation of voting equipment was instituted by Secretary of State Ken Blackwell—co-chair of the Bush Campaign in Ohio at the time—and resulted in the systematic suppression of votes from Democratic constituencies. Bush won Ohio by a two-percent margin, giving him a second term. That night I stopped believing that elections in America were democratic or fair.