Help Us Stay Paywall-Free

Democracy depends on the free exchange of ideas. Help sustain it with a tax-deductible donation today.


Boston Review no longer hosts contests. A list of prior winners of our short story and poetry contests can be found below.

Aura Estrada Short Story Contest

Parashar Kulkarni, The Origin of Cow Therapy (2022)
Yiru Zhang, Dear Mothers, We Are No Longer Lost (2021)
Yeoh Jo-Ann, Dog Tiger Horse (2020)
Sabrina Helen Li, Mother, Grow My Baby (Fall 2019)
Neshat Khan, The Neighbors (Spring 2019)
Herselman Hattingh, The Recorder (2018)
Gina Balibrera, Álvaro (2017)
Mikayla Ávila Vilá, Trumpeteers (2016)
Barbara Hamby, Dole Girl (2015)
Leslee Becker, Severance (2014)
Kerry-Lee Powell, There Are Two Pools You May Drink From (2013)
Alexandra Thom, The Piano (2012)
Kalpana Narayanan, Aviator on the Prowl (2011)
Adam Sturtevant, How Do I Explain? (2010)
Jessica Treglia, Canceled (2009)
Patricia Engel, Desaliento (2008)
Padma Viswanathan, Transitory Cities (2007)
Tiphanie Yanique, How to Escape from a Leper Colony (2006)
Lisa Chipongian, Intramuros (2005)
D. S. Sulaitis, If It’s Anywhere, It’s Behind Us (2004)
Gale Renee Walden, Men I Don’t Talk to Anymore (2003)
Manini Nayar, Home Fires (2002)
Kate Small, One Night a Year (2001)
Girija Tropp, The Pretty Ones Have Their Uses (2001)
Pauls Toutonghi, Regeneration (2000)
Jacob M. Appel, Shell Game with Organs (1999)
Kris Saknussemm, Unpracticed Fingers Bungle Sadly Over Tiny Feathered Bodies (1998)
Kiki Delancey, Jules Jr Michael Jules Jr (1997)
Mary Ann Jannazo, No Runs, No Hits, No One Left on Base (1996)
Tom Paine, The Milkman & I (1995)
Michael Dorris, Layaway (1994)

Annual Poetry Contest

Njoku Nonso (2022)
Adebe DeRango-Adem and Simone Person (2021)
Cheswayo Mphanza (2020)
C. X. Hua (2019)
Kim Parko (2018)
Mia Kang (2017)
Cori A. Winrock (2016)
Safiya Sinclair (2015)
Francine J. Harris (2014)
Scott Coffel (2013)
Sarah Crossland (2012)
Heather Tone (2011)
Anthony Caleshu (2010)
John Gallaher (2009)
Sarah Arvio (2008)
Elizabeth Willis (2007)
Marc Gaba (2006)
Mike Perrow (2005)
Michael Tod Edgerton (2004)
Susan Wheeler (2003)
Max Winter (2002)
D. A. Powell (2001)
Christopher Edgar (2000)
Stephanie Strickland (1999)
Daniel Bosch (1998)

Can the nation-state serve social justice?

Olúfẹ́mi O. Táíwò leads a forum with Thea Riofrancos, Mariame Kaba & Andrea Ritchie, Ishac Diwan & Bright Simons, and others. Plus Leila Farsakh on Palestinian statehood, Astra Taylor and Leah Hunt-Hendrix on a “solidarity state,” Joshua Craze on rule by militia, and much more. 

Become a member and get it as your first issue.

Our new issue asks what a just state would look like and how to get there.

Become a member to get it as your first issue!